Coverart for item
The Resource The lido, Libby Page

The lido, Libby Page

Label
The lido
Title
The lido
Statement of responsibility
Libby Page
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eightysixyearold subjectand the unlikely and lifechanging friendship that develops between them. Kate is a twentysixyearold riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eightysixyearold widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido's historywith the help of a charming photographershe pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Frederick Backman, The Lido is a charming, feelgood novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generationsan irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship"
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Page, Libby
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Reporters and reporting
  • Female friendship
  • Older women
Target audience
adult
Label
The lido, Libby Page
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"Sometimes the only way to change your life is to swim outside the lanes..." -- Cover
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2196519
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9781409175216
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
The lido, Libby Page
Publication
Copyright
Note
"Sometimes the only way to change your life is to swim outside the lanes..." -- Cover
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
2196519
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
376 pages
Isbn
9781409175216
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Inglewood LibraryBorrow it
      895 Beaufort Street, Inglewood, 6052, AU
      -31.921066 115.885610
Processing Feedback ...