Coverart for item
The Resource The altruists, Andrew Ridker

The altruists, Andrew Ridker

Label
The altruists
Title
The altruists
Statement of responsibility
Andrew Ridker
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A vibrant and perceptive novel about a father's plot to win back his children's inheritance. Arthur Alter is in trouble. A middling professor at a Midwestern college, he can't afford his mortgage, he's exasperated his much younger girlfriend, and his kids won't speak to him. And then there's the moneythe small fortune his late wife Francine kept secret, which she bequeathed directly to his children. Those children are Ethan, an anxious recluse living off his mother's money on a choice plot of Brooklyn real estate; and Maggie, a wouldbe dogooder trying to fashion herself a noble life of selfimposed poverty. On the verge of losing the family home, Arthur invites his children back to St. Louis under the guise of a reconciliation. But in doing so, he unwittingly unleashes a Pandora's box of ageold resentments and longburied memories, memories that orbit Francine, the matriarch whose life may hold the key to keeping them together. Spanning New York, Paris, Boston, St. Louis, and a small desert outpost in Zimbabwe, The Altruists is a darkly funny (and ultimately tender) family saga in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jeffrey Eugenides, with shades of Philip Roth and Zadie Smith. It's a novel about money, privilege, politics, campus culture, dating, talk therapy, rural sanitation, infidelity, kink, the American beer industry, and what it means to be a "good person."
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ridker, Andrew
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Inheritance and succession
  • Wealth
  • College teachers
  • Widowers
  • Father and child
  • Mothers
  • Homecoming
  • Resentment
  • Saint Louis (Mo.)
Target audience
adult
Label
The altruists, Andrew Ridker
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
308 pages
Isbn
9781787330450
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
be2019011739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
The altruists, Andrew Ridker
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
308 pages
Isbn
9781787330450
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
be2019011739
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Osborne LibraryBorrow it
      9 Royal Street, Tuart Hill, 6060, AU
      -31.896371 115.829451
Processing Feedback ...